ITU elects first woman and other top managers to lead UN agency

The 20th Plenipotentiary Conference of the International Telecommunication Union (ITU) meeting in Dubai last week, has elected the first ever woman to one of five top executive positions in the history of the organization.

Bharat Bhatia, President of the ITU-APT Foundation of India, congratulated the office bearers and mentioned that ITU-APT foundation holds special relations with all the elected officials and would work to further strengthen the relations between India and ITU.

Present office bearers of ITU are as follows:

  • Mr. Houlin Zhao of China was re-elected to the post of ITU Secretary-General
  • Mr. Malcolm Johnson of the United Kingdom was re-elected to the post of ITU Deputy Secretary-General
  • Dr. Chaesub Lee of Republic of Korea was re-elected to the post of Director of ITU’s Telecommunication Standardization Bureau (TSB)
  • Mr. Mario Maniewicz of Uruguay was elected to the post of Director of ITU’s Radiocommunication Bureau (BR)
  • Ms. Doreen Bogdan-Martin of the United States was elected to the post of Director of ITU’s Telecommunication Development Bureau (BDT)

ITU Plenipotentiary Conference brings more than 2500 ICT decision-makers including many ICT minsters and two heads of Government. The ministers and senior government officials shared their countries’ plans to use information and communication technologies (ICTs) to improve lives.

The Plenipotentiary Conference is the highest decision-making body of ITU, the United Nations specialized agency for ICT’s. Held every four years, the Conference is the key event at which ITU Member States build consensus on key international ICT issues, elect leaders for the Union’s top posts, and decide on a roadmap for ITU’s work over the next four-year period, including strategic and financial plans. PP-18 is taking place from 29 October to 16 November and is being held at the Dubai World Trade Centre, Dubai, UAE.

Ms ARUNA Sundararajan, Secretary, Department of Telecommunications Ministry of Communications led the Indian delegation to the Conference along with members from Department of Telecommunications, ITU-APT and COAI.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply